Research Awards 2024

Research Awards Day 2024

The RPH Research Foundation Awards Day recognises the successful applicants to the 2024 grant programs and celebrates award winners.

In 2024, the Foundation will present four award categories: 

  • Professor Lyn Beazley AO Emerging Leader Award
  • Mentorship Award
  • Early Career Publication Award
  • Doreen McCarthy Nursing Research Award

These award categories have been tailored to recognise Early Career Researchers  and the mentors who help support them. We encourage early career researchers across East Metropolitan Health Service to apply below. Successful applicants will be presented with their awards at the Research Awards Day on 18 October 2024. 

Go to our Guidelines and Conditions to review award details including eligibility, submission details and assessment criteria. Applications for the Awards will close on Tuesday 13 August 2024.

Professor Lyn Beazley AO Emerging Leader Award

The Professor Lyn Beazley AO Emerging Leader Award recognises early career researchers who have demonstrated exceptional promise and dedication in their scientific or clinical research endeavours.

The award will be open to those within six years of PhD or highest degree conferral (subject to career disruptions and relative to opportunity), who have conducted research within East Metropolitan Health Service in the last Financial Year (1 July 2023- 30 June 2024). Eligible applications will be assessed on the following criteria:

1. Research Excellence

2. Research Impact

3. Leadership & Collaboration

4. Ambassadorship

This award has been named in honour of RPH Research Foundation’s immediate past Board Chair, Professor Lyn Beazley AO, in recognition of her leadership, advocacy of research and commitment to supporting the next generation of researchers. 

The successful applicant will be announced at the Research Awards Day 2024 on 18 October and receive $5,000 in funding. 

Apply Now

Application Preview

Early Career Publication Award

The Early Career Publication Award was established to recognise early career researchers who are publishing their research. Given the publishing process is highly competitive, this award aims to encourage early career researchers on their publication journey.

Applications for the 2024 Early Career Publication Award are now open. The winner will be announced at the RPH Research Foundation Research Awards Day. The winner will receive funding to the value of $5,000 and a certificate. 

Applicants applying for both the Publication Award and Emerging Leader Award can complete both forms as part of their Emerging Leader Application. 

Apply Now

Application Preview

Mentorship Award

This award was established in recognition of the essential role mentorship plays in supporting Early Career Researchers. The Mentorship Award recognises Senior Researchers who are developing the next generation of researchers. Researchers working within the East Metropolitan Health Service are invited to nominate their supervisors and colleagues for the 2024 Mentorship award.  

Nominations are now open. The winner will be announced on 18 October 2024 and receive $5,000 in funding and a certificate.

Apply Now

Application Preview

Doreen McCarthy Nursing Research Award

At the RPH Research Foundation, we believe in the transformative power of nursing research. We are dedicated to fostering innovation and excellence in nursing practice within the East Metropolitan Health Service. This award recognises nurses within EMHS who are conducting research to improve patient outcomes and enhance healthcare. This award will be presented to the top-ranked nursing project submitted to the RPH Research Foundation’s 2024 Nursing and Allied Health Grant Program. 

In 2024, the winner will receive $5,000 in funding and be announced at the Research Awards Day. 

Go to Top of the page