Research Symposium and Awards Day 2023

The RPH Research Foundation's Research Symposium and Awards Day 2023

In 2023, RPH Research Foundation celebrates its 40th anniversary and four decades of funding Western Australian health and medical research. To mark the occasion our 2023 Symposium will showcase the researchers the Foundation currently funds and present awards to researchers to showcase achievement.

This year there are four award categories, with a focus on early career researchers across East Metropolitan Health Service, the awards aim to promote research as a vital aspect of everyday practice. The Foundation is also accepting applications for the inaugural Professor Lyn Beazley AO Emerging Leader Award. Successful applicants will be presented with their awards at the Research Symposium and Awards Day on 27 October 2023. 

Go to our Guidelines and Conditions to review grant details including eligibility, submission details and assessment criteria.  Applications for the Awards closed on Monday 4 September. 

Professor Lyn Beazley AO Emerging Leader Award

The Professor Lyn Beazley AO Emerging Leader Award aims to recognise and support early career researchers who have demonstrated exceptional promise and dedication in their scientific or clinical research endeavours.

The award will be open to those within five years of PhD conferral (subject to career disruptions and relative to opportunity) following the NHMRC Emerging Leader 1 (EL1) category, who have conducted research within East Metropolitan Health Service over the past 18 months. Eligible applications will be assessed on the following criteria:

1. Research Excellence

2. Research Impact

3. Leadership & Collaboration

4. Ambassadorship

The award has been named in honour of RPH Research Foundation’s immediate past Board Chair Professor Lyn Beazley AO, in recognition of her leadership, advocacy of research and commitment to supporting the next generation of researchers. 

Applications for this award have now closed, the winner will be annouced at the Research Symposium and Awards Day on Friday 27 October 2023. 

Early Career Publication Award

The Early Career Publication Award was established to recognise early career researchers who are publishing their research. Given the publishing process is highly competitive, this award aims to encourage early career researchers on their research publication journey.

Applications for the 2023 Early Career Publication Award have closed. The winner will be announced at the RPH Research Foundation Research Symposium and Awards Day. The winner will receive $1,500 and a certificate. 

Mentorship Award

This award was established in recognition of the essential role mentorship plays in supporting Early Career Researchers. The Mentorship Award recognises Senior Researchers who are developing the next generation of researchers. Researchers working within the East Metropolitan Health Service are invited to nominate their supervisors and colleagues for this annual award. This award is aligned with RPH Research Foundation’s strategic priority of supporting and fostering the development of research leaders. 

Thank you to everyone who nominated their mentors, the winner will be annouced on 27 October 2023. 

Nursing Research Award

At the RPH Research Foundation, we believe in the transformative power of nursing research. We are dedicated to fostering innovation and excellence in nursing practice within the East Metropolitan Health Service. This award recognises nurses within EMHS who are conducting research to improve patient outcomes and enhance healthcare. This award will be presented to the top-ranked nursing project submitted to the RPH Research Foundation’s 2023 Nursing and Allied Health Grant Program. 


The Bryant Stokes Oration

Our 2023 keynote address will be delivered by:

Dr Norman Swan AM  MBChB, FRCP, DCH, MD (Hon Causa), FAHMS.

Norman co-hosts RN’s Health Report and during the COVID-19 pandemic, has co-hosted Coronacast, a podcast on the coronavirus.  Norman is also a reporter and commentator on the ABC’s 7.30, Midday, News Breakfast and Four Corners and a guest host on RN Breakfast. He is a past winner of the Gold Walkley and has won other Walkleys including one with his Coronacast colleagues in 2020. He created Invisible Enemies, on pandemics and civilisation for Channel 4 UK and SBS which was subsequently broadcast in 27 countries.
Norman has been awarded the medal of the Australian Academy of Science, an honorary MD from the University of Sydney and in October 2022 a Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences. On Australia Day 2023, Norman was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (AM).

During COVID he wrote two books. So You Think You Know What’s Good For You (Hachette) is a best seller and was released in the UK.  His latest book So You Want To Live Younger Longer has also been on the best seller list.

Norman trained in medicine and paediatrics in Aberdeen, London and Sydney before joining the ABC.

Go to Top of the page